This page has been moved. The new address is:
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/engr/guide/stand.html

Ask a Librarian

ENGINEERING LIBRARY STANDARDS, SPECIFICATIONS AND CODES


By James W. Clasper, Engineering Reference Librarian
Engineering Library, University of Cincinnati, 850L Baldwin Hall, m.l. #18, (513)556-1452

Access Current Standards Information a commercial database of over 50,000 titles.

Global Engineering Documents provides a web based searchable database for standards.

Another search index for standards on the Web is the National Standards Systems Network (NSSN): Global Standards Network .

The following list includes standards, specifications and codes which are available in the University of Cincinnati Libraries.

AEROSPACE INDUSTRIES ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA

AIR-CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION INSTITUTE

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION OFFICIALS (the most recent editions of AASHTO manuals are included in the Industry Standards, Microfiche 36)

    AASHTO LRFD Bridge Construction Specifications 2nd ed. (TG310.A437 2004)
    AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications Customary U.S. Units (TG23.A25 2004 v.1)
    AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications SI Units 3rd ed. (TG23.A25 2004 v.2)
    AASHTO LRFD Movable Highway Bridge Design Specifications (TG420.A43 2000)
    Construction Manual for Highway Construction. (TE145.A525 1985)
    Guide for the Design of High Occupancy Vehicle Facilities. (HE336.B8G845 1992)
    Guide for the Design of Park and Ride Facilities. (TL175.G86 1992)
    Guide Specifications for Horizontally Curved Highway Bridges. (TG310.G85 1993)
    Highway Drainage Guidelines --Metric Edition (TE215.H54 1999)
    Industry Standards. (Microfiche 36)
    Manual for Condition Evaluation and Load and Resistance Factor Rating (LRFR) of Bridges (TG315.A44 2003)
    Model Drainage Manual. (TC970.M64 1991)
    A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets (TE175.A54 2004)
    Standard Specifications for Highway Bridges, 17th edition, 2002. (TG310.A6 17th 2002)
    Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing, 25rd edition, 2005. (TE200.A62 2005)
    Standard Specifications for Welding of Structural Steel Highway Bridges, 3rd edition, 1981. (TG416.A45)

AMERICAN CONCRETE INSTITUTE

    ACI Manual of Concrete Practice, 2006. (TA681.A45 2006)

AMERICAN FOUNDRYMEN'S SOCIETY

    Mold and Core Test Handbook. (TS236.M6 1978)

AMERICAN GEAR MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION

    Industry Standards. (Microfiche 36)

AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF AERONAUTICS AND ASTRONAUTICS

    Recommended Practice for Atmospheric and Space Flight Vehicle Coordinate Systems. (TL570.R3733 1992)

AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF STEEL CONSTRUCTION

AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF TIMBER CONSTRUCTION

AMERICAN NATIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEES

Library holds a number of ANSI Standards, most are issued independently under the organizational name or in conjunction with other organizations. See library catalog under "American National Standards Institute" or other organizational name. The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County is an excellent source of most ANSI approved standards.

AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR MATERIALS

AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR TESTING AND MATERIALS

AMERICAN SOCEITY OF AGRICULTURAL ENGINEERS

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL ENGINEERS

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF HEATING, REFRIGERATING, AND AIR-CONDITIONING ENGINEERS

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

AMERICAN WATER WORKS ASSOCIATION

AMERICAN WELDING SOCIETY

ARTECH HOUSE

ASPHALT INSTITUTE

BRICK INSTITUTE OF AMERICA

BUILDING OFFICIALS AND CODE ADMINISTRATORS INTERNATIONAL

CINCINNATI, OHIO

COMPRESSED GAS ASSOCIATION

CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE

COUNCIL OF AMERICAN BUILDING OFFICIALS (see: International Code Council)

DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

DIN Deutsches Institute fur Normung e.V.

Environmental Industry Associations

FACTORY MUTUAL ENGINEERING CORPORATION

ILLUMINATING ENGINEERING SOCIETY OF NORTH AMERICA

INDUSTRIAL FASTENERS INSTITUTE

INFORMATION HANDLING SERVICES

INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS

INSTITUTE OF PETROLEUM (Now the Energy Institute)

INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS

INSTRUMENT SOCIETY OF AMERICA

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE PROPERTIES OF WATER AND STEAM

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING AND MECHANICAL OFFICIALS

INTERNATIONAL ATOMIC ENERGY AGENCY

INTERNATIONAL CODE COUNCIL

INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BUILDING OFFICIALS

INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR STANDARDIZATION (ISO)

INTERNATIONAL ENERGY ADMINISTRATION

INTERSOCIETY COMMITTEE

J. J. KELLER & ASSOCIATES

JAPANESE STANDARDS ASSOCIATION

MEANS CONSTRUCTION COST GUIDES

METAL POWDER INDUSTRIES FEDERATION

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CORROSION ENGINEERS (NACE)

NATIONAL COMMITTEE ON UNIFORM TRAFFIC LAWS AND ORDINANCES

NATIONAL CONCRETE MASONRY ASSOCIATION

NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATES ON BUILDING CODES AND STANDARDS, INC.

NATIONAL ELECTRICAL MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION

NATIONAL FIRE PROTECTION AGENCY

NATIONAL INFORMATION STANDARDS ORGANIZATION (NISO)

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF STANDARDS AND TECHNOLOGY (NIST)/NATIONAL BUREAU OF STANDARDS (NBS)

Library receives most NIST/NBS publications except NBSIR series (interagency reports). See UCLID under "United States. [name of agency] or use the title of a specific series of publications.

OHIO

PLUMBING HEATING COOLING CONTRACTORS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

PRECAST/PRESTRESSED CONCRETE INSTITUTE

SEMICONDUCTOR EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS INSTITUTE

SOCIETY OF AUTOMOTIVE ENGINEERS

    ASTM and SAE AMS Standards and Specifications for Stainless Steel. (TA479.S7 A78 2003)
    Industry Standards, Aerospace Standards Only. (Microfiche 36)
    SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications (Z5064.M3 S65)
    SAE AMS Index (Aerospace Material Specifications) (Z5064.M3 S65a)
    SAE Handbook, 2006. (CD-ROM Station # 2)
    Metals and Alloys in the Unified Numbering System; and Cross Index of Chemically Similar Specifications, 10th edition, 2004. (TA461.M47 2004)

SOUTHERN BUILDING CODE CONGRESS INTERNATIONAL

    International Building Code 2006. (TH420.S73 2006)
    International Mechanical Code 2006. (KF5708.I55 2006)
    Standard Building Code, 1997. (TH420.S73 1997)

STEEL JOIST INSTITUTE

    Standard Specifications Load Tables and Weight Tables for Steel Joists and Joist Girders, 1994. (TA685.S73 1994)
    Standard Specifications Load Tables and Weight Tables for Steel Joists and Joist Girders, 1992. (Microfiche 36)

TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD

    Highway Capacity Manual (HE336.H48 H54 2000)

TAPPI (Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry)

    TAPPI Test Methods, 1998-1999. (TS1109.T274 1998-1999)

TUBULAR EXCHANGER MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION

    Standards of the Tubular Exchanger Manufacturers Association, 8th edition, 1999. (TJ263.T8 1999)

UNDERWRITERS LABORATORIES

    Building Materials Directory (TH455.B84 2005)
    Fire Resistance Directory (T55.A1.F55 2005)
    Industry Standards, Standards and Directories. (Microfiche 36)

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

    Compilation of Air pollutant Emission Factors, AP-42, 4th edition, 1985. (TD881.U55AP42 1985)

UNITED STATES NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

WORLD STANDARDS SERVICES NETWORK (WSSN)

    A network of publically accessible World Wide Web Servers of standards organizations around the world.


Send comments to: James W. Clasper, Engineering Reference Librarian

Return to Guide To The Engineering Library
Return to Engineering Library Homepage

Last modified: jwc 11/21/06